I arranged to pick the bike up from Dave on Tuesday the 22nd after making sure it would actually fit into the Eurovan. Dave measured the bike to be 50″ to the highest point and the opening of the rear liftgate is 51″ so it was going to be close. Tuesday dawned extremely cold and breezy, I wondered if the van would even start. Needless worry as it started right up with just the power steering pump groaning a bit until it warmed up.

Met Dave at 11 am, toured his workshop, chatted a bit and then loaded the CCM. Just as I thought, 1″ clearance when going down the ramp from the loading dock into the van. Late that afternoon when I unloaded it down the ramp onto the ground there was at least 2″ to spare, so now I know it will fit into the van with room to spare.

Rolled the bike into the shop and decided to have a look at the cam belt and dig through the bin of spares that came with it to see what all I had. As soon as I removed the belt cover, it was apparent that the cam belt was bad – lots of rubber dust and a bunch of the teeth laying in the bottom of the cover!

toothless

toothless 2

toothless 3

Hopefully no valves were bent when the teeth stripped, a leakdown test will determine if that was the case or not.

Curiousity satisfied on that front, I dug into the bin. Lots of good stuff – all of the lighting, full wiring harness with switchgear, spare sprockets, cam belts!, starter motor and sprag clutch, stock piston and stock valves springs, plus more. A binder with brochures and an engine service manual were included too.

spare parts

Spent a half-hour removing some of the body work to get a better look at how it was built and the condition of things so I could make a list of needs. Overall I’m quite impressed with the way it’s built, seems beefier and less like a “kit bike” than the ATK. It has been modified a bit – the Pro Taper handlebars, Scotts bar clamp and Up-Tite Racing muffler aren’t stock, plus the stock piston and valves in the bin make me think that there’s a higher compression piston and stiffer valves springs fitted as well. The stiffer springs along with past due replacement, could have lead to the cam belt’s demise.

